Transfer server at self-service portal

User Enrique Herencia has sent us a question:

Good afternoon, I want to know what exactly the TRANSFER SERVER option does? I understand that you transfer / copy the data from my server (SRV1) to another (SRV2)?

The option Transfer Server is used when you don’t want to be responsible for that server (for which you are an owner) and wish to transfer it (the ownership privileges and administrative duties) to another user. (Such as in the case where you are happily retiring). This is mentioned in the instructions for the self-service portal. The other user must be already registered (having a confirmed account at the Designer).

Note that PDS servers can’t be transferred.