Create new api client with Stata?

Hi everyone,
I am new to Stata and survey solutions. I want to access survey solutions API, but I got this error :
File “”, line 1
# // Python globals:
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
(1120 lines skipped)
(error occurred while loading SuSo.class)

I don’t know what happen. Could you help me please ?
My Python version is : 3.10.1 (tags/v3.10.1:2cd268a, Dec 6 2021, 19:10:37) [MSC v.1929 64 bit (AMD64)]

What is the version of:

• Stata
  • Survey Solutions server
  • SuSoApi client (or better where did you install it from)?

I use Stata 17.0 BE-Basic Edition.
Survey Solution Server = https://mysurvey.touton.com
SuSoApi client: I installed it through this command == ssc install susoapi

Hello @De_Anzi ,

When I try to replicate I get the following:

followed by an error (this is not surprising since I don’t have credentials for the server). But at least it managed to load the class, start executing the constructor, contact the server, obtain version.

Perhaps you have multiple Python versions installed, and the one that is actually executing is different, though I can’t comprehend in what way.

The message that you show in your log seems to complain already on line 1

# // Python globals:

Which is a comment that should be understood by all Python versions. In your case, however, the rest of the file is ignored.

Besides the version 3.8.1 shown in the screenshot, I’ve also tried with v 3.8.5 with similar result.

Here is what you may try:

1. Repair or re-install your Python installation;
  2. Reinstall susoapi;
  3. Try susoapi version from Github, (which is newer than the SSC version).

Please do let know what you’ve tried and whether it worked.

1 Like

Hi Sergiy,

thanks for your help. I tried all your advice but I got the same error.
Finally, I decided to use your Python version (v. 3.8.1 ) and I obtained this result.

error: Server responded: 403 Forbidden.